Comic Book Club

Comic Book Club banner

A book club for all things comics, manga, and graphic novels! Come join us to make friends, discuss your favorites, and discover something new! Teens in grades 6-12 are welcome to register and will receive a free copy of the book to keep and build your collection, provided by the Moorpark Friends of the Library. Come to Moorpark City Library on the 1st of the month to pick up your book.

Upcoming Meetings

January 24 @ 4:30 PM

Komi Can't Communicate

Komi Can't Communicate book coverThe journey to 100 friends begins with a single conversation. Socially anxious high school student Shoko Komi's greatest dream is to make some friends, but everyone at school mistakes her crippling social anxiety for cool reserve! With the whole student body keeping their distance and Komi unable to utter a single word, friendship might be forever beyond her reach. Timid Tadano is a total wallflower, and that's just the way he likes it. But all that changes when he finds himself alone in a classroom on the first day of high school with the legendary Komi. He quickly realizes she isn't aloof-she's just super awkward. Now he's made it his mission to help her on her quest to make 100 friends!




Click here to register

Books available for pick up on January 2nd. Title subject to change.


February 28 @ 4:30 PM

My Love Story!!

My Love Story coverA gentle giant with a heart of gold finally stops being a love underdog in this hilarious romantic comedy!

Takeo Goda is a giant guy with a giant heart. Too bad the girls don't want him! (They want his good-looking best friend, Sunakawa.) Used to being on the sidelines, Takeo simply stands tall and accepts his fate. But one day when he saves a girl named Yamato from a harasser on the train, his (love!) life suddenly takes an incredible turn!

Takeo can hardly believe it when he crosses paths with Yamato again, and he finds himself falling in love with her' But with handsome Sunakawa around, does Takeo even stand a chance?



Click here to register

Books available for pick up on February 1st. Title subject to change.


March 28 @ 4:30 PM

Almost American Girl

Almost American Girl book cover

A powerful and moving teen graphic novel memoir about immigration, belonging, and how arts can save a life; perfect for fans of American Born Chinese and Hey, Kiddo. 

For as long as she can remember, it's been Robin and her mom against the world. Growing up as the only child of a single mother in Seoul, Korea, wasn't always easy, but it has bonded them fiercely together.

So when a vacation to visit friends in Huntsville, Alabama, unexpectedly becomes a permanent relocation following her mother's announcement that she's getting married. Robin is devastated.

Overnight, her life changes. She is dropped into a new school where she doesn't understand the language and struggles to keep up. She is completely cut off from her friends in Seoul and has no access to her beloved comics. At home, she doesn't fit in with her new stepfamily, and worst of all, she is furious with the one person she is closest to: her mother.

Then one day Robin's mother enrolls her in a local comic drawing class, which opens the window to a future Robin could never have imagined.

Click here to register

Books available for pick up on March 1st.